Oncofusion

start / graph / concept-what-is-and-is-not-measured-in-children-on-menin-inhibitors

Explainerestablished confidence 5 of 5: Multiple independent lines of evidence; treated as settled in the field.Q-menin-normal-tissue

What the labels measure in a treated child: bone growth, in one sentence, and nothing else endocrine

also called paediatric endocrine monitoring menin inhibitor · REVUFORJ 8.4 pediatric use · children menin inhibitor endpoints

One menin drug is approved for children from one year old and has been given to 132 of them, including 25 babies. The only endocrine or growth instruction in its label is a single sentence telling doctors to monitor bone growth and development. Nothing says how, how often, or with what test.

The same thing, for a scientist

Read directly from both DailyMed labels on 2026-09-19 [E1][E2]. **REVUFORJ**: safety and efficacy established in patients 1 year and older; the paediatric experience comprises **25 infants under 2 years, 78 children aged 2 to under 12 and 29 adolescents aged 12 to under 17** - 132 children in total; dosing below 40 kg is BSA-based; safety and effectiveness below 1 year of age are not established. The only paediatric-specific instruction of any endocrine or developmental kind is: *"Based on the findings in animals, monitor bone growth and development in pediatric patients"* - prompted by irreversible femoral growth-plate closure in 6-7-week-old rats at ~2x the human AUC. **KOMZIFTI**: *"Safety and effectiveness of KOMZIFTI in pediatric patients have not been established."* Nothing further. Neither label specifies a measurement, an interval, a threshold or an action for the bone-growth instruction, and neither mentions height velocity, bone age, pubertal staging, IGF-1, thyroid function, gonadotrophins or glucose anywhere.

Go deeper
The instrumentation, itemised
DomainMeasured?Where
Bone growth and developmentInstructed, unspecifiedREVUFORJ 8.4, one sentence 1
Intact PTHMeasured and reported (34%)REVUFORJ 6.1, pooled adults + children 1
Calcium, phosphate, ALPMeasured and reportedREVUFORJ 6.1 1; ziftomenib reports ALP only 2
Height, weight velocity, growth chartsNo-
Bone age radiographNo-
Pubertal (Tanner) stagingNo-
IGF-1, growth hormone axisNo-
Thyroid functionNo-
Gonadotrophins, gonadal functionNo (despite irreversible animal fertility findings) 2-
Glucose, insulin, HbA1cNosee concept-not-one-glucose-value-appears-on-either-menin-inhibitor-label
Bone density (DXA)No-
Any paediatric subgroup analysis of the endocrine labsNo - children are pooled with adults1
The pooling problem

The 34% intact-PTH figure is drawn from a pooled population of 241 patients, 207 adults and 34 children in the laboratory-table population 1. No paediatric-specific rate is given for any endocrine laboratory abnormality. A child's parathyroid, mineral axis and bone are not an adult's, and the one population in which the growth-plate finding is actionable is the one whose data are not separated out. This is a reporting decision, not a data limitation - the sponsor can stratify by age in an afternoon.

How the one instruction compares with paediatric practice elsewhere

Drugs with recognised effects on growth in children - inhaled and systemic corticosteroids, stimulants, growth-hormone-axis agents - carry specified monitoring: serial height on a growth chart at defined intervals, with an action threshold. The REVUFORJ instruction names no measurement and no interval, so compliance with it is unfalsifiable and its outputs are not collected anywhere centrally. Combined with concept-endocrine-endpoint-absence-menin-trial-registries (zero endocrine outcome measures across AUGMENT-101, KOMET-001 and cAMeLot-1) and FDA's own PMR 4730-1, which requires a chronic-exposure endocrine trial but names no paediatric endpoint, the result is that the population with the most to lose is the one generating the least data.

Facts and figures
revuforj paediatric n132
revuforj infants under 225
revuforj children 2 to 1278
revuforj adolescents 12 to 1729
minimum age1 year
dosing under 40kgBSA-based
only paediatric endocrine instructionmonitor bone growth and development (unspecified)
paediatric subgroup endocrine labsnot reported
ziftomenib paediatricnot established
How this could bite us back
  • The only paediatric-specific safety instruction in the class names no measurement and no interval, so it generates no data and cannot be audited.
  • Pooling 34 children with 207 adults hides exactly the subgroup in whom the growth-plate finding is actionable.
  • Irreversible animal fertility findings sit on a label for a class given to children, with no reproductive endpoint collected anywhere.
Still open
  1. What are the endocrine laboratory rates in the 34 paediatric patients specifically? This is a stratification of data that already exists.
  2. Has any treating centre collected serial heights on menin-inhibitor-treated children, and would a consortium retrospective assemble a first growth dataset?
  3. Does the FDA multi-discipline review for NDA 218944 contain paediatric endocrine subgroup data that did not reach the label?
Every source behind this entry (2)
  1. E1established confidence 5 of 5: Multiple independent lines of evidence; treated as settled in the field.database

    REVUFORJ is approved from 1 year of age with 132 children treated (25 infants <2y, 78 aged 2-<12y, 29 aged 12-<17y); its only paediatric endocrine/developmental instruction is to monitor bone growth and development, unspecified; endocrine laboratory abnormalities are reported only pooled with adults.

    REVUFORJ (revumenib) tablets, for oral use - US Prescribing Information (SPL version 5, published 20 Feb 2026) · Syndax Pharmaceuticals, Inc. · DailyMed / FDA Structured Product Label, setid 6eb3cdbc-0e74-477d-82d6-3bb172d3f63f 2026
    What this evidence cannot show

    Read from the DailyMed SPL text on 2026-09-19. The label is a summary document; the FDA multi-discipline review may contain paediatric subgroup data not reproduced on the label, and has not been read for this entry.

    Evidence that argues against this (1)
    • FDA postmarketing requirement 4730-1 does compel a chronic-exposure trial addressing endocrine-related disorders due to chronic menin inhibition, so the regulator has acted even though the label does not specify paediatric endpoints - see reg-fda-pmr-endocrine-chronic-menin-inhibition. Syndax Pharmaceuticals et al. 2026
  2. E2established confidence 5 of 5: Multiple independent lines of evidence; treated as settled in the field.database

    KOMZIFTI states that safety and effectiveness in paediatric patients have not been established, and reports irreversible animal fertility findings after a 4-week recovery period.

    KOMZIFTI (ziftomenib) capsules, for oral use - US Prescribing Information (SPL version 1, published 16 Dec 2025) · Kura Oncology, Inc. · DailyMed / FDA Structured Product Label, setid b650f696-3391-4274-8b55-a5f5e9d04769 2025
    What this evidence cannot show

    A 'not established' statement reflects the absence of a paediatric development programme at approval rather than a negative finding; a paediatric programme may follow.

    Evidence that argues against this (1)
    • Absence of a paediatric indication also means no children are exposed to ziftomenib on label, so the missing paediatric monitoring is currently a hypothetical rather than an active exposure for this product. Kura Oncology et al. 2025
Connected to